Pressing back after deleting something
After tweeting about using a page instead of a modal dialog, Chris Cheshire asked what should happen if the user presses back after deleting a customer’s account.
I had a look at the service I‘m working on at the moment and we show a 404 page.
This makes sense technically as the account no longer exists.
But I discussed with Duncan Brown how we could do this better.
And we came up with this custom 404 page:
# You cannot delete this customer’s account – it does not exist It looks like you may have deleted it already. [Continue to account list page]
This way the user knows why they cannot see the page and they can click the button to get back to a working page.